Hammett Prize

The Hammett Prize is awarded annually by the International Association of Crime Writers, North American Branch (IACW/NA) to a Canadian or US citizen or permanent resident for a book in English in the field of crime writing.
It is named after crime-writer Dashiell Hammett[1] and was established in 1991.[2]
               1991 – Maximum Bob by Elmore Leonard (Delcorte)
               1992 – Turtle Moon by Alice Hoffman (Putnam)
               1993 – The Mexican Tree Duck by James Crumley (Mysterious Press)
               1994 – Dixie City Jam by James Lee Burke (Hyperion)
               1994 – Under the Beetle’s Cellar by Mary Willis Walker (Doubleday)
               1996 – Rose by Martin Cruz Smith (Random House)
               1997 – Trial of Passion by William Deverell (McClelland & Stewart)
               1998 – Tidewater Blood by William Hoffman (Algonquin)
               1999 – Havana Bay by Martin Cruz Smith (Random House)
               2000 – The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood (Doubleday/McClelland & Stewart)
               2001 – Kingdom of Shadows by Alan Furst (Random House)
               2002 – Honor’s Kingdom by Owen Parry (Morrow)
               2003 – The Seduction of Water by Carol Goodman (Ballantine)
               2004 – Prince of Thieves: A Novel by Chuck Hogan (Scribner)
               2005 – Alibi: A Novel by Joseph Kanon (Henry Holt)
               2006 – The Prisoner of Guantánamo by Dan Fesperman (Knopf)
               2007 – The Outlander by Gil Adamson (House of Anansi)
               2008 – The Turnaround by George Pelecanos (Little, Brown)
               2009 – The Manual of Detection by Jedediah Berry (The Penguin Press)
               2010 – The Nearest Exit by Olen Steinhauer (St.Martin’s/Minoutar)
               2011 – The Killer is Dying by James Sallis (Walker and Company)
               2012 – Oregon Hill by Howard Owen (Permanent)
External link’s…
.        Award guidelines (http://www.crimewritersna.org/hammett/index.htm)
.        Past Winners (including nominees) (http://www.crimewritersna.org/hammett/past.htm)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.