The Dilys Award

The Dilys Award have been presented every year since 1992 by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association. It is given to the mystery title of the year which the member booksellers have most enjoyed selling.[1][2]
The Independent Mystery Booksellers Association is an association of retail businesses that are either wholly or substantially devoted to the sale of mystery books.
The Dilys award is named after Dilys Winn, who founded the first specialty bookseller of mystery books in the United States.[3]
               2014 – Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger
               2013 – Before the Poison by Peter Robinson
               2012 – Ghost Hero by S. J. Rozan
               2011 – Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny
               2010 – The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley
               2009 – Trigger City by Sean Chercover
               2008 – Thunder Bay by William Kent Krueger
               2007 – Still Life by Louise Penny[4]
               2006 – Thirty-Three Teeth by Colin Cotterill
               2005 – Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay
               2004 – Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde
               2003 – In the Bleak Midwinter by Julia Spencer- Fleming
               2002 – Mystic River by Dennis Lehane
               2001 – A Place of Execution by Val McDermid
               2000 – L.A. Requiem by Robert Crais
               1999 – Gone, Baby, Gone by Dennis Lehane
               1998 – Three to Get Deadly by Janet Evanovich
               1997 – The Poet by Michael Connelly
               1996 – The Last Coyote by Michael Connelly
               1995 – One for the Money by Janet Evanovich
               1994 – Smilla’s Sense of Snow by Peter Høeg
               1993 – Booked to Die by John Dunning
               1992 – Native Tongue by Carl Hiaasen
External link’s…

1. ^ Clark, Candace; Charles, John; Morrison, Joanna (2002). The mystery readers’ advisory: the librarian’s clues to murder and mayhem ( id=bsWM8vWJHzoC&pg=PA75&dq=%22Dilys+award%22&as_brr=3&ei=Mhq1SJ- zOoLgywTei_nTBQ&sig=ACfU3U2pwmtb2748x5gt00hhKmtoVXDDOQ). Chicago: American Library Association. pp. p75. ISBN 0-8389-0811-X.

2. ^ Tere Stouffer (2007). The Complete Idiot’s Guide to the World of Harry Potter (Complete Idiot’s Guide to) ( id=jGmWkbDwbsEC&pg=PA107&dq=%22Dilys+award%22&lr=&as_brr=3&ei=5h21SPi0KoTkygTcm52MCw&si g=ACfU3U0onc26PnEmY-mSd7nTBHzk_65CgQ). Indianapolis, IN: Alpha. pp. p107. ISBN 1-59257-599-4.

3. ^ a b “The DILYS AWARD” ( Independent Mystery Booksellers Association. Retrieved 2010-06-18.

4. ^ Wilda W. Williams (2007-04-15). “Genre Spotlight 2007 “Mystery”: The Killer Genre – 4/15/2007 – Library Journal” ( Archived from the original ( on 2008-08-27. Retrieved 2008-08-27.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s