David Morrell 24 April 1943

david morrell
David Morrell (born April 24, 1943) is a Canadian- American novelist, best known for his debut 1972 novel First Blood, which would later become the successful Rambo film franchise starring Sylvester Stallone.
He has written 28 novels, and his work has been translated into 26 languages.[1]
He also wrote the 2007-2008 Captain America comic book miniseries The Chosen.
Morrell decided to become a writer at the age of 17, after being inspired by the writing in the classic television series Route 66.
In 1966, Morrell received his B.A. in English from St. Jerome’s University and moved to the United States to study with Hemingway scholar Philip Young at Pennsylvania State University, where he would eventually receive his M.A. and Ph.D. in American literature.
During his time at Penn State he also met science fiction writer Philip Klass, better known by the pseudonym William Tenn, who taught the basics of writing fiction.[1]
Morrell began work as an English professor at the University of Iowa in 1970.
In 1972, his novel First Blood was published; it would eventually be made into the 1982 film of the same name starring Sylvester Stallone as Vietnam veteran John Rambo.
Morrell continued to write many other novels, including The Brotherhood of the Rose, the first in a trilogy of novels, which was adapted into a 1989 NBC miniseries starring Robert Mitchum. Eventually tiring of the two professions, he gave up his tenure at the university in 1986 in order to write full-time.[1]
Morrell’s teenaged son Matthew died of Ewing’s Sarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer in 1987.
The trauma of his loss influenced Morrell’s work, in particular in his creative fiction memoir about Matthew, Fireflies. The protagonist of Morrell’s novel Desperate Measures also experiences the loss of a son.[1]
Morrell is the co-president of the International Thriller Writers organization.[1]
Morrell is a graduate of the National Outdoor Leadership School for wilderness survival as well as the G. Gordon Liddy Academy of Corporate Security. He is also an honorary lifetime member of the Special Operations Association and the Association of Former Intelligence Officers.[1]
According to his website, he has been trained in firearms, hostage negotiation, assuming identities, executive protection, and anti-terrorist driving, among numerous other action skills that he describes in his novels. He recently received his FAA licence to pilot his own small plane.[1]
Morrell lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.[2]
Morrell was presented with the 2009 ThrillerMaster Award from the ITW.[3]
External link’s…
Official Site The David Morrell Network (http://www.davidmorrell.net/)
Biography for David Morrell (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm606251/bio) at the Internet Movie Database
David Morrell (http://www.isfdb.org/cgi-bin/ea.cgi?David_Morrell) at the Internet Speculative Fiction Database
International Thriller Writers (http://www.internationalthrillerwriters.com)
The story behind Murder as a Fine Art – Online Essay by David Morrell (http://upcoming4.me/news/book-news/the-story-behind-murder-as-a-fine-art-by-david-morrell) at Upcoming4.me
“Morrell, David” by Adam Meyer, in David Pringle (Editor), St. James Guide to Horror, Ghost and Gothic writers. Detroit, MI : St. James Press, 1998, ISBN 1558622063.
1972 First Blood ISBN 0-446-36440-1
1975 Testament ISBN 0-446-69191-7
1977 Last Reveille ISBN 0-446-36442-8
1979 The Totem ISBN 0-446-36446-0
1982 Blood Oath ISBN 0-312-95345-3
1983 The Hundred-Year Christmas – illustrated by R. J. Krupowicz ISBN 0-937-98657-7
1984 Brotherhood of the Rose ISBN 0-449-20661-0
1985 Fraternity of the Stone ISBN 0-449-20973-3
1985 Rambo: First Blood Part II – novelization of the film of the same name ISBN 0-515-08399-2
1987 The League of Night and Fog ISBN 0-449-21371-4
1988 Rambo III – novelization of the film of the same name ISBN 0-515-09333-5
1990 Fifth Profession ISBN 1-597-37769-4
1991 The Covenant of the Flame ISBN 0-446-36292-1
1993 Assumed Identity ISBN 0-446-60070-9
1994 Desperate Measures ISBN 0-446-60239-6
1994 The Totem – unabridged ISBN 0-446-36446-0
1996 Extreme Denial ISBN 0-446-60396-1
1998 Double Image ISBN 0-446-60696-0
1999 Black Evening (short stories) ISBN 0-446-60864-5
2000 Burnt Sienna ISBN 0-446-60960-9
2002 Long Lost ISBN 0-446-61194-8
2003 The Protector ISBN 0-446-61403-3
2004 Nightscape (short stories) ISBN 0-755-32174-X
2005 Creepers ISBN 1-593-15357-0
2007 Scavenger ISBN 1-593-15483-6
2008 The Spy Who Came for Christmas ISBN 1-593-15701-0
2009 The Shimmer ISBN 1-593-15580-8
2010 The Naked Edge ISBN 1-937-76022-7
2013 Murder as a Fine Art ISBN 0-316-21678-X
1976 John Barth: An Introduction ISBN 0-271-01220-X
1988 Fireflies ISBN 1-937-76029-4
2002 Lessons from a Lifetime of Writing: A Novelist Looks at His Craft ISBN 1-582-97270-2
Comic books
2007 – 2008 Captain America: The Chosen
2013 – 2014 The Amazing Spider-Man #700.1 & 700.2
2014 Savage Wolverine #23
1. ^ a b c d e f g “Biography” (http://www.davidmorrell.net/about.cfm).
2. ^ “David Morrell” (http://americanindian.net/kusi/davidmorrell/index.html). Retrieved 31 August 2010.
3. ^ “The 2011 Thriller Awards” (http://thrillerwriters.org/?s=thriller+master&x=0&y=0). ITW. Retrieved 2011-08-27.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s