Margaret Murphy 14 April 1959

Margaret Murphy[2]
Margaret Murphy (born 14 April 1959) is a British crime writer.
Murphy was born and brought up in Liverpool, Lancashire where she gained a degree in Environmental Biology at the University of Liverpool and later an MA with Distinction in Writing at Liverpool JMU, a course on which she now lectures. She has been a countryside ranger, science teacher, dyslexia specialist and psychology student.
After a string of successful stand-alone novels, Murphy began her first series with The Dispossessed which was followed by Now You See Me, featuring fictional Merseyside detectives Jeff Rickman, Lee Foster and Naomi Hart.
Her novels have garnered critical acclaim on both sides of the Atlantic with The New York Times describing her prose as “skin-chilling”.[1]
Short-listed for the First Blood Award and the Crime Writers’ Association’s “Dagger in the Library”, Murphy is the founder of “Murder Squad” – a touring group of crime writers – and a former chair of the Crime Writers’ Association. She is also 2006/07 Chair of the CWA Debut Dagger.
In June 2013 she published a book under the pseudonym of AD Garrett called Everyone Lies. Murphy appeared on the BBC Breakfast programme to talk about the book and her collaboration with Professor Dave Barclay, a forensic scientist, who worked with her to get the science accurate for the plot of the book.
Murphy is a contributor to both BBC Radio Merseyside’s Drive Time and Radio 4’s The Message.
External link’s…
Margaret ( – official website
Listen to Margaret Murphy discuss The Dispossessed on BBC Radio 4 (
Margaret Murphy’s article on John Creasey founder of the police procedural novel. (
Now You See Me (2005), Hodder (a Rickman and Foster novel)
The Dispossessed (Nov 2004), Hodder & Stoughton (a Rickman and Foster novel)
Weaving Shadows (2003), Hodder & Stoughton (a Clara Pascal novel)
Darkness Falls (2002), Hodder & Stoughton (a Clara Pascal novel)
Dying Embers (2000), Macmillan
Past Reason (1999), Macmillan
Desire of the Moth (1998), Macmillan Caging the Tiger (1997), Macmillan
Goodnight, My Angel (1996), Macmillan
Short fiction
Low Visibility (2008)
False Light (2006) in Ellery Queen Magazine
Epiphany (2006) in Ellery Queen Magazine
False Light (2004) in Liverpool Stories, Comma Press
Big End Blues and A Certain Resolution (2001) in Murder Squad Anthology, Flambard
1. ^ Stasio, Marilyn. “Crime” ( res=9503EEDE1038F932A25754C0A9629C8B63&n=Top%2fFeatures%2fBooks%2fBook%20Reviews), “New York Times”, 11 July 2004. Accessed 11 July 2004.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s