Bill Pronzini 13 April 1943

Bill Pronzini (born April 13, 1943) is an American writer of detective fiction. He is also an active anthologist, having compiled more than 100 collections, most of which focus on mystery, western, and science fiction short stories.[1]
William John Pronzini was born in Petaluma, California. He has been married three times.
The first marriage was to Laura Patricia Adolphson (1965, divorced 1966); the second was to Brunhilde Schier (July 28, 1972, separated December 1985, divorced a couple of years later). He married mystery writer Marcia Muller in 1992.
They have collaborated on four novels: Double (1984), a Nameless Detective novel, The Lighthouse (1987), Beyond the Grave (1986), The Bughouse Affair (2013), and The Spook Lights Affair (2013) as well as on numerous anthologies.[2]
He published his first novel, The Stalker, in 1971. However, his best known works are the Nameless Detective series, which he began in 1971.[3]
As of 2013, there are 42 books in the series, including a number of short stories. While the stories involve the usual range of crimes typical to mysteries, they depict relatively little violence.
Pronzini has written more than three hundred short stories appearing in publications, including the some of the last issues of both Adventure and Argosy magazines, generally considered the first American pulp magazines.
Pronzini’s work also appeared in Charlie Chan Mystery Magazine, Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, Man from U.N.C.L.E. Magazine, The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Mike Shayne Mystery Magazine, and Alfred Hitchcock’s Anthology.[3]
The 1890s Western detective short story “Carpenter and Quincannon, Professional Detective Services” (1998) centers on Sabina Carpenter, a Pinkerton detective widow working in her fallen husband’s profession.
Pronzini has received a large number of awards and award nominations for achievement in the Mystery genre.
His début novel The Stalker was nominated for the 1972 Edgar Award in the “Best First Mystery Novel” category.[4]
Pronzini then won the inaugural Shamus Award for “Best Private Eye Novel” in 1982 for his novel Hoodwink.[5]
The following year, he was nominated for his second Edgar Award, this time in the “Best Critical or Biographical” listings for Gun in Cheek.[6]
The next year, 1984, Pronzini won his first award for a short-story, winning the “Best Private Eye Short Story” Shamus Award for “Cat’s Paw” and Bones was nominated for the “Best Private Eye Novel” Shamus in 1986.[5]
In 1987, Pronzini was awarded “The Eye”, the Shamus award for “Lifetime Achievement” in the mystery genre, the highest accolade awarded.[5] The same year, Pronzini received his first Macavity Award for his Critical Work 1001 Midnights, along with Marcia Muller; following this with a win in the same category in the following year for Son of Gun in Cheek.[7]
1989 brought a nomination at the 1989 Anthony Award for “Best Novel”, Shackles; and another Shamus nomination for short-story “Incident in a Neighborhood Tavern”.[8]
Another two short-story nominations at the Shamus Awards followed, for “Here Comes Santa Claus” in 1990 and “Home is the Place Where” in 1996, the year in which his novel Blue Lonesome was nominated for the “Best Novel” 1996 Anthony Award.[5][8]
The next year, Sentinels received a “Best Novel” nomination at the 1997 Shamus Awards; the year after A Wasteland of Strangers won Pronzini’s only “Best Novel” Edgar Award for Boobytrap, which also won the Shamus Award in the same category in 1999.[5][9] “The Big Bite” in 2001 and “Devil’s Brew” in 2007 were both Shamus Award “Best Private Eye Short Story” nominees; followed by his latest recognition for “Best Novel” nominee Schemers, in 2010.[5]
1. ^ “Authors and Creators: Bill Pronzini” ( Retrieved March 16, 2012.
2. ^ DeAndrea, William. “Pronzini, Bill” in Encyclopedia Mysteriosa. MacMillan, 1994 (p.285-6).
3. ^ a b Edward D. Hoch, “Pronzini, Bill” in Twentieth Century Crime and Mystery Writers, edited by James Vinson and D. L. Kirkpatrick. St. James Press, 1985. pp. 735-39.
4. ^ “Best First Mystery Novel by an American Author Edgar Award Winners and Nominees – Complete Lists ( Retrieved March 16, 2012.
5. ^ a b c d e f “The Private Eye Writers of America and The Shamus Awards” ( Retrieved March 16, 2012.
6. ^ “Best Critical or Biographical Edgar Award Winners and Nominees – Complete Lists” ( Retrieved March 16, 2012.
7. ^ “Mystery Readers International’s Macavity Awards” ( Retrieved March 16, 2012.
8. ^ a b “Bouchercon World Mystery Convention : Anthony Awards Nominees” ( October 2, 2003. Retrieved March 16, 2012.
9. ^ “Best Mystery Novel Edgar Award Winners and Nominees – Complete Lists” ( Retrieved March 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s