Diane Mott Davidson 22 March 1949

Diane Mott Davidson (born March 22, 1949) is an American author of mystery novels that use the theme of food, an idea she got from Robert B. Parker.[1] Several recipes are included in each book, and each novel title is a play on a food or drink word.
Mott Davidson studied political science at Wellesley College and lived across the hall from Hillary Clinton. In a few of her novels (particularly, The Cereal Murders), she references a prestigious eastern women’s college that her sleuth, Goldy Schulz, attended before transferring to University of Colorado in Boulder Colorado.
In real life, Mott Davidson transferred from Wellesley and eventually graduated from Stanford University.
The main character in Mott Davidson’s novels is Goldy Schulz, a small town caterer who also solves murder mysteries in her spare time. At the start of the series, Goldy is a recently divorced mother with a young son trying to make a living as a caterer in the fictional town of Aspen Meadow, CO.
As the series progresses, new characters are introduced that change Goldy’s professional and personal life. It has been noted that Aspen Meadow, CO, closely resembles a real Colorado town, Evergreen. Evergreen is where Mott Davidson currently resides with her family.
The series has now reached 17 books. The first 12 books interwove recipes with the novel’s text. When a dish is first described in the novel, the relevant recipe followed within the next few pages.[2]
Double Shot, the 12th novel, marked a change in the publishing of these recipes. In Double Shot, all recipes are compiled and printed at the end of the novel.
She was the guest of honor at the 2007 Great Manhattan Mystery Conclave in Manhattan, Kansas.
External link’s…
1. Catering to Nobody (1990)
2. Dying for Chocolate (1993)
3. The Cereal Murders (1994)
4. The Last Suppers (1995)
5. Killer Pancake (1996)
6. The Main Corpse (1997)
7. The Grilling Season (1998)
8. Prime Cut (2000)
9. Tough Cookie (2001)
10. Sticks and Scones (2002)
11. Chopping Spree (2003)
12. Double Shot (2005)
13. Dark Tort (2007)
14. Sweet Revenge (2008)
15. Fatally Flaky (2009)
16. Crunch Time (2011)
17. The Whole Enchilada (2013)
Mott Davidson was nominated for both the 1991 Anthony Award and the 1990 Agatha Award for Catering to Nobody in the “Best First Novel” category.[3][4]
Additionally, her story “Cold Turkey” won the 1993 Anthony Award for “Best Short-story”.[3]
1. ^ Calta, Marialisa (Mar 2, 1993). “More female writers are working recipes into their fiction” (http://news.google.com/newspapers?id=zIIfAAAAIBAJ&sjid=86UEAAAAIBAJ&pg=4122,416244). The Tuscaloosa News. Retrieved 2012-03-23.
2. ^ “AT LUNCH WITH: Diane Mott Davidson;A Mystery Writer Has Proven Recipes – New York Times” (http://www.nytimes.com/1996/07/03/garden/at-lunch-with-diane-mott-davidson-a-mystery-writer-has-proven- recipes.html?pagewanted=all&src=pm). Nytimes.com. 1996-07-03. Retrieved 2012-03-23.
3. ^ a b “Bouchercon World Mystery Convention : Anthony Awards Nominees” (http://www.bouchercon.info/nominees.html). Bouchercon.info. 2003-10-02. Retrieved 2012-03-23.
4. ^ “Malice Domestic Convention – Bethesda, MD” (http://www.malicedomestic.org/agathaawards_past.html). Malicedomestic.org. 1988-08-23. Retrieved 2012-03-23.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s