Michael Dibdin 21 March 1947 . 20 March 2007

Michael Dibdin (21 March 1947 – 30 March 2007) was a British crime writer.
Dibdin was born in Wolverhampton, the son of a physicist, and was brought up from the age of seven in Lisburn, Northern Ireland, where he attended the Friends’ School.
He graduated with a degree in English from Sussex University, and then went to study for a Master’s degree at the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Canada.
After publishing his first novel, a Sherlock Holmes pastiche, he lived for four years in Italy, teaching at the university in Perugia.
Dibdin is best known for his Aurelio Zen mysteries, set in Italy.
The first of these, Ratking, won the ‘Gold Dagger’ award of 1988. This series of detective novels provide a penetrating insight into the less visible aspects of Italian society over the last 20 years.
The earlier books have a lightness of touch that gradually becomes much darker. The character of Zen himself is anti-heroic, which adds much to the books’ irony and black humour.
A final Zen book, End Games, appeared posthumously in July 2007.
He also wrote other detective works set in America and in England.
Later he lived in Seattle, Washington.
Dibdin was married three times, most recently to the novelist K. K. Beck. He died on 30 March 2007, in Seattle, Washington, following a short illness.
External link’s…
Michael Dibdin (http://literature.britishcouncil.org/authors/?p=auth28) at British Council: Literature
Daily Telegraph obituary (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml? xml=/news/2007/04/04/db0401.xml&page=1)
January Magazine Interview: Michael Dibdin (http://www.januarymagazine.com/profiles/dibdin.html)
Michael Dibdin: “Zen is someone I don’t know very much about” – video (http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/video/2011/jan/11/michael-dibdin-zen-video? INTCMP=ILCNETTXT3486)
Aurelio Zen series
1. Ratking (1988)
2. Vendetta (1990)
3. Cabal (1992)
4. Dead Lagoon (1994)
5. Cosi Fan Tutti (1996)
6. A Long Finish (1998)
7. Blood Rain (1999)
8. And Then You Die (2002)
9. Medusa (2003)
10. Back to Bologna (2005)
11. End Games (2007)
Other books
The Last Sherlock Holmes Story (1978)
A Rich Full Death (1986)
The Tryst (1989)
Dirty Tricks (1991)
The Dying of the Light (1993)
Dark Spectre (1995)
Thanksgiving (2000)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s