The Barry Award

The Barry Award is a crime literary prize awarded annually since 1997 by the editors of Deadly Pleasures, an American quarterly publication for crime fiction readers.
From 2007-2009 the award was jointly presented with the publication Mystery News.
The prize is named after Barry Gardner, an American critic.[1]
Note that the “best British crime novel” in this context is best crime fiction novel first published in English in the United Kingdom and does not reflect the author’s nationality.
In 1997, the editorial staff of Deadly Pleasures decided that since one of the magazine’s stated goals was to search out and report on the best works being published in the field of crime fiction each year, it would be a natural fit to present awards for excellence.
Then came the dilemma of what to name the award.
At the time all associated with the magazine were still reeling from the untimely death of Barry Gardner, who was arguably the best fan reviewer on the planet, so it was decided to name the award after him so as to keep his memory alive (not unlike what Bouchercon and its Anthony awards have done for writer/critic Anthony Boucher, who also suffered an untimely and early death).
For a biography of Barry Gardner, click on his name above.
Some have asked me from time to time, what are submission guidelines for the Barry Award. It is pretty simple: get us a copy of the book or short story and hope one of us reviews it.
Our staff doesn’t even attempt to read everything.
We try to keep our ears to the ground and read what people are talking about. And from time to time we find Barry Award nominees by our own idiosyncratic reading.
In short, we don’t have an organized reading program whereby all members of the nominating committee read the same books. We choose people on the committee who read widely and try to find consensus among them. It isn’t perfect, but no system is.
For the years 2007 through 2009 The Barry Awards were co-sponsored with Mystery News, thus broadening the exposure of the Awards.
Sadly Mystery News has ceased publication as of December, 2009. We at Deadly Pleasures appreciated their participation.
Best Novel
Best First Novel
Best British Novel
Best Paperback Novel
Best Thriller
Mystery/Crime Novel Of The Decade
Best Short Story
               Best Novel:ORDINARY GRACE, William Kent Krueger
               Best First Novel : JAPANTOWN, Barry Lancet
               Best PBO : I HEAR THE SIRENS IN THE STREET, Adrian McKinty– Winner
               Best Thriller : THE DOLL, Taylor Stevens — Winner
Another fine job done by our nominating committees comprised of Larry Gandle, Maggie Mason, Bev DeWeese, Ali Karim, Barbara Peters, Pat Frovarp, Gary Shulze, Mike Bursaw, Oline Cogdill, Kris Schorer, Beth Fedyn, George Easter and Steele Curry (on Thriller Committee).
               Best Novel : THE BLACK HOUSE by Peter May (Silver Oak) [2]
               Best First Novel: A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller (Minotaur)
               Best Paperback Original: MR. CHURCHILL’S SECRETARY by Susan Elia McNeal (Bantam)
               Best Thriller:THE FALLEN ANGEL by Daniel Silva (Harper)

You will notice that there are fewer categories this year. We have eliminated two: The Best Short Story (lack of interest/votes by fans) and Best British (changing times, most good British writers are now published in the U.S.

and it was a confusing award especially when an American or an Icelandic
The awards ceremony got to be too long. Now it will be just right.
               Best Novel: THE KEEPER OF LOST CAUSES (in U.K., MERCY), Jussi Adler-Olsen (Dutton)
               Best First Novel: THE INFORMATIONIST, Taylor Stevens (Crown)
               Best British (Published in the U.K. in 2011): DEAD MAN’S GRIP, Peter James (Macmillan)
               Best Paperback Original: DEATH OF THE MANTIS, Stanley, Michael (Harper Perennial)
               Best Thriller: THE INFORMANT, Thomas Perry (Houghton Mifflin)
             Best Short Story (compiled by Marv Lachman) Jeffrey Cohen, “The Gun Also Rises” (AHMM January-February)
               Best Novel: THE LOCK ARTIST, Steve Hamilton (Minotaur)
               Best First Novel: THE POACHER’S SON, Paul Doiron (Minotaur)
               Best British Novel: THE WOODCUTTER, Reginald Hill (HarperCollins)
               Best Paperback Original: FEVER AT THE BONE, Val McDermid (Harper)
               Best Thriller: 13 HOURS, Deon Meyer (Grove Atlantic)
               Best Short Story: Loren D. Estleman, “The List” (EQMM May 2010)
External link’s…
.         Official website
1. ^ “The Barry Awards” ( Deadly Pleasures. 2008-10-09. Retrieved 2012-01-27.
2. ^ “2013 Barry Award Winners” ( Crimespree Magazine. Retrieved 25 September 2013.
.         Retrieved from “ title=Barry_Award_(for_crime_novels)&oldid=634868512″
.         Official website

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s