Davitt Award

The Davitt Awards (named in honour of Ellen Davitt (1812-1879) who wrote Australia’s first mystery novel, Force and Fraud in 1865) are presented annually by the Sisters in Crime Australia association.
The awards are presented for Australian crime fiction, by women, for both adults and young adults.
They were established in 2001 to mark the 10th anniversary of the association.
A record 61 books are in contention for Sisters in Crime Australia’s 13th Davitt Awards for the best crime and mystery books by Australian women in 2012.

Six Davitt Awards will be presented at a gala dinner on 31 August by leading New Zealand crime writer, Vanda Symon, at the Thornbury Theatre in Melbourne: Best Novel (Adult); Best Novel (Children’s and Young Adult); Best True Crime Book; Best Debut Book (any category); Readers’ Choice (as voted by the 600 members of Sisters in Crime Australia).
And this year, the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award will also be presented.
The judging panel for 2013 comprises forensic pathologist Dr Shelley Robertson, retired bookseller Rosi Tovey, Sisters in Crime national co-convenors Tanya King-Carmichael and Jacqui Horwood and former convenor Sylvia Loader.
The previous Davitts have been presented by Swedish crime writer Asa Larsson (2012); Singapore crime writer Shamini Flint (2012), Scottish crime writer Val McDermid (2010); Justice Betty King (2010), Judge Liz Gaynor (2008); Walkley-winning investigative journalist Estelle Blackburn (2007); Karen Kissane true crime writer (2006); Debbie Killroy, Sisters Inside (2005); Karin Slaughter, US crime writer (2004); Val McDermid (2003); Sharan Burrow, ACTU President (2002) and Christine Nixon, (then) Chief Commissioner, Victoria Police (2001).
Sisters in Crime Australia named the award The Davitt in honour of Ellen Davitt (1812-1879) who wrote Australia’s first mystery novel, Force and Fraud  in 1865. Her achievement is extraordinary when it is considered that Wilke’s Collins’ The Woman in White, generally regarded as the first full-length mystery novel, was published only in 1860. Force and Fraud was serialised in the Australian Journal, starting with its very first issue. It begins with a murder and ends with its solution, with red herrings, blackmail, and a dramatic court scene in between.
Best Adult Novel
Best Young Adult Novel True Crime
Debut Crime
Readers’ Choice
               Shamini Flint presented the 2011 Davitt Awards at the Celtic Club, as part of the 2011 SheKilda
               Val McDermid presented the 2010 Davitt Awards at the Celtic Club, on Saturday 28 August. Sisters in Crime Australia feel indeed honoured to welcome the much loved Val again.
               Justice Betty King presented the awards to a crowd of 140 at the Celtic Club.
               County Court Judge Liz Gaynor was guest speaker at the Davitts award ceremony at the Celtic Club in Melbourne tonight and also presented the awards. Judge Gaynor, a former criminal barrister and noted wit, has been a judge of the Ned Kelly crime writing awards for a number of years.
               Walkley Award winning Perth journalist, Estelle Blackburn, was guest speaker at the Davitts award ceremony at the Celtic Club in Melbourne tonight.
               The 2005 Davitt awards were presented by Debbie Kilroy, the founder of Sisters Inside, a unique advocacy group run by women prisoners, acclaimed for its groundbreaking work not only in Australia but also internationally.
               The 2004 Crime Davitt Awards were presented by American Author, Karin Slaughter.
               The 2002 Crime’s Davitt Awards were presented by Scottish crime queen, Val McDermid.
External link’s…
.        Davitt Awards (http://www.sistersincrime.org.au/)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s