Anthony Awards

The Anthony Awards are literary awards for mystery writers presented at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention since 1986.
The awards are named for Anthony Boucher (1911–1968), one of the founders of the Mystery Writers of America.[1]
Among the most prestigious awards in the world of mystery writers, the Anthony Awards have helped boost the careers of many recipients.[2]
Awards are voted for by members attending the annual event and are given in the following categories:
Best Novel
Best First novel
Best Paperback original
Best Short story
Best Critical / Non-fiction work Special Service award
The ceremony may also include a number of “wild card” awards.


               Best Novel award – Louise Penny, The Beautiful Mystery
               Best First novel award – Chris Pavone, The Expats
               Best Paperback original award – Johnny Shaw, Big Maria
               Best Short story award – Dana Cameron, “Mischief in Mesopotamia” from Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, November 2012
               Best Critical / Non-fiction work – John Connolly and Declan Burke, Books to Die For: The World’s Greatest Mystery Writers on the World’s Greatest Mystery Novels
External link’s…
.         Official website of Bouchercon World Mystery Convention (

1. ^ Langshaw, Mark (2011-09-19). ” ‘The Chill’ wins Anthony Award for ‘Best Graphic Novel’ – Comics News” ( Digital Spy. Retrieved 2012-01-26.

2. ^ New Mexico Business Weekly (2008-06-10). “UNM Press mystery writer recognized for blog site – New Mexico Business Weekly” ( Retrieved 2012-01-26.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s