Left Coast Crime

Left coast crime
Left Coast Crime is an annual conference organised by mystery fiction fans for mystery fiction fans, first held in San Francisco in 1991.
It is concerned with western North American region mysteries, but the conference itself travels worldwide, having been held in Canada and the United Kingdom, as well as different parts of the United States.
The conference enables fans to mix with authors.
A prominent author of western mystery fiction is invited to be guest speaker.[1][2][3]
Awards Conference participants have voted on an award for the most humorous mystery novel since 1996.
The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery (for a mystery set prior to 1950) has been voted since 2004.[4]
The PANIC is an award for the best Los Angeles noir in memory of Paul Anik and the first, for 2009, will be awarded at the 2010 conference in Los Angeles.[5]
Lefty Award Winners
               1996: The Fat Innkeeper by Alan Russell
               1997: No award given
               1998: Three To Get Deadly by Janet Evanovich
               1999: Four to Score by Janet Evanovich
               2000: Murder With Peacocks by Donna Andrews
               2001: No award given
               2002: tie: Dim Sum Dead by Jerrilyn Farmer and Fender Benders by Bill Fitzhugh
               2003: tie: The Hearse Case Scenario by Tim Cockey
                              and Pipsqueak by Brian M. Wiprud
               2004: Mumbo Gumbo by Jerrilyn Farmer
               2005: tie: We’ll Always Have Parrots by Donna Andrews
                              and Blue Blood by Susan McBride 2006: Cast Adrift by Peter Guttridge
               2007: Go to Helena Handbasket by Donna Moore
               2008: Murder With Reservations by Elaine Viets
               2009: Greasing the Pinata by Tim Maleeny
               2010: Getting Old Is a Disaster by Rita Lakin
               2011: The Pot Thief Who Studied Einstein by J. Michael Orenduff
               2012: The Real Macaw by Donna Andrews
               2013: The Girl Next Door by Brad Parks[6]
The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery[4]
               2004: For The Love Of Mike by Rhys Bowen
               2005: The Witch in the Well by Sharan Newman
               2006: Spectres In The Smoke by Tony Broadbent
               2009: Nox Dormienda, A Long Night For Sleeping by Kelli Stanley
               2010: A Trace of Smoke by Rebecca Cantrell
               2011: The Mapping of Love and Death by Jacqueline Winspear
               2012: Mercury’s Rise by Ann Parker
               2013: Dandy Gilver and an Unsuitable Day for a Murder by Catriona McPherson.
External link’s…
1. ^ Conference website (http://www.leftcoastcrime.org/2010/)
4. ^ a b “The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award” (http://awards.omnimystery.com/mystery-awards- bruce-alexander.html#.UomqbpFU10g). Awards.OmniMystery.com. Left Coast Crime conference. Retrieved November 18, 2013.
5. ^ 2010 conference website (http://www.leftcoastcrime.org/2010/)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s