The Martin Beck Award

The Martin Beck Award is an award given by the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy (Svenska Deckarakademin) for the best crime novel in translation. It is one of the most prestigious international crime- writing awards.
The Award is named after Martin Beck, a fictional Swedish police detective who is the main character in a series of ten novels by Sjöwall and Wahlöö.
List of Martin Beck Award winners from every year the award has been given out. All Martin Beck Award winners are listed below in order of popularity, but can be sorted by any column. People who won the Martin Beck Award award are listed along with photos for every Martin Beck Award winner that has a picture associated with their name online. You can click on the name of the Martin Beck Award award recipients to get more information about each. People who won the Martin Beck Award are usually listed by year, but on this list you’ve got a complete list of Martin Beck Award winners from all years. If this proves to not be a full list of Martin Beck Award winners, you can help make it so by adding to this one. This list includes the most memorable and well-known Martin Beck Award winners of all time. Anybody who won the Martin Beck Award usually has a picture associated with their name, so all the Martin Beck Award-winning people are listed here with photos when available. This list spans the history of the Martin Beck Award, so most of the famous Martin Beck Award winners are here and can be a good starting point for making a list of your favorites. This list answers the question “who are all the people who have ever won Martin Beck Award?” If you’re looking for all the nominees, you can click the links above the title of this page to the Listopedia page where you’ll find a directory of award nominees, as well as the rest of the award winners lists we have. You may copy this factual list to build your own just like it, re-rank it to fit your opinions, then publish it to share it with your Facebook friends, Twitter followers or with any other social networks you use on a regular basis. This list features Frederick Forsyth, Doris Gercke and more.
          1971 – Julian Symons, The 31st February, (UK, 1950)
          1972 – Frederick Forsyth, The Day of the Jackal, (UK, 1971)
          1973 – Richard Neely, The Walter Syndrome, (USA, 1970)
          1974 – Francis Iles, Malice Aforethought, (UK, 1931)
          1975 – Cornell Woolrich, Rendezvous in Black, (USA, 1948)
          1976 – John Franklin Bardin, The Last of Philip Banter, (USA, 1947) and Devil Take The Blue-Tail Fly, (UK, 1948)
          1977 – Leslie Thomas, Dangerous Davies: The Last Detective, (UK, 1976)
          1978 – Anthony Price, Other Paths to Glory, (UK, 1974)
          1979 – Brian Garfield, Recoil, (USA, 1977)
          1980 – Ruth Rendell, Make Death Love Me, (UK, 1979)
          1981 – Sébastien Japrisot, One Deadly Summer, (L’Été meurtrier, France, 1977)
          1982 – Margaret Yorke, The Scent of Fear, (UK, 1980)
          1983 – Pierre Magnan, Death in the Truffle Wood, (Le Commissaire dans la truffière, France, 1978)
          1984 – Len Deighton, Berlin Game, (UK, 1983)
          1985 – Elmore Leonard, LaBrava, (USA, 1983)
          1986 – John le Carré, A Perfect Spy, (UK, 1986)
          1987 – Matti Joensuu, Harjunpää and the Tormentors, (Harjunpää ja kiusantekijät, Finland, 1986)
          1988 – Scott Turow, Presumed Innocent, (USA, 1987)
          1989 – Anders Bodelsen, Mørklægning, (Denmark, 1988)
          1990 – Ross Thomas, Chinaman’s Chance, (USA, 1978)
          1991 – Doris Gercke, Weinschröter, du musst hängen, (Weinschröter, du musst hängen, Germany, 1988)
          1992 – Manuel Vázquez Montalbán, Southern Seas, (Los mares del Sur, Spain, 1979)
          1993 – Tim Krabbé, The Golden Egg, (Het gouden ei, Netherlands, 1984)
          1994 – Maarten ‘t Hart, Het Woeden der Gehele Wereld, (Netherlands, 1993)
          1995 – Scott Smith, A Simple Plan, (USA, 1993)
          1996 – David Guterson, Snow Falling on Cedars, (USA, 1994)
          1997 – Barry Unsworth, Morality Play, (UK, 1995)
          1998 – Mary Willis Walker, Under the Beetle’s Cellar, (USA, 1995)
          1999 – Iain Pears, An Instance of the Fingerpost, (UK, 1997)
          2000 – Thomas H. Cook, The Chatham School Affair, (USA, 1996)
          2001 – Peter Robinson, In a Dry Season, (USA, 1999)
          2002 – Karin Fossum, Black Seconds, (Svarte sekunder, Norway, 2002)
          2003 – Ben Elton, Dead Famous, (UK, 2001)
          2004 – Alexander McCall Smith, The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, (UK, 1998)
          2005 – Arnaldur Indriðason, Voices, (Röddin, Iceland, 2002)
          2006 – Philippe Claudel, Grey Souls, (Les Âmes grises, France, 2003)
          2007 – Thomas H. Cook, Red Leaves, (USA, 2005)
          2008 – Andrea Maria Schenkel, Tannöd, (Germany, 2006)
          2009 – Andrew Taylor, Bleeding Heart Square, (UK, 2008)
          2010 – Deon Meyer, Devil’s Peak, (South Africa, 2004)
          2011 – Denise Mina, The End of the Wasp Season
          2012 – Peter Robinson, Before the Poison
          2013 – Dror Mishani,’Tik ne’edar
          2014 – Jørn Lier Horst, The Hunting Dogs, (Jakthundene, Norway, 2012)
External link’s…
.        (Swedish) Martin Beck Award official website (

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s