Tim Heald – 28 January 1944

Tim Heald (born 28 January 1944) is a British author, biographer, journalist and public speaker.
Heald was born in Dorchester, Dorset, England, and educated at Sherborne School, Dorset, and Balliol College, Oxford, gaining an MA in Modern History.
He has written over thirty published books, including official biographies of HRH Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh (The Duke – a Portrait of Prince Philip (1991), Hodder & Stoughton), and HRH Princess Margaret (Princess Margaret – a Life Unravelled (2007), Orion Books).
Heald is also known for his mystery novels featuring Simon Bognor, special investigator, (10 titles), serialised by Thames TV.
More recently as creator of Dr Tudor Cornwall in a new crime trilogy published by Robert Hale Ltd: Death and the Visiting Fellow (2004), Death and the D’Urbervilles (2005), A Death on the Ocean Wave (2007).
He recently returned to the newly knighted Simon Bognor and has published two new novels Death in the Opening Chapter and Poison at the Pueblo with Creme de la Crime/ Severn House.
He is working on more.
As a journalist, Tim Heald has written for Punch, The Spectator, The Sunday Times (Atticus column), Daily Express (feature writer 1967-72), The Times, The Daily Telegraph, and is a freelance travel writer.
In the autumn of 2009 he started writing a “Royal Blog” for the Daily Telegraph web-site and was appointed Royal Correspondent by the editor of The Lady (a magazine), Rachel Johnson.
As a speaker, he was often a guest on Cunard cruise ships QE2 and Caronia.
He was the author of Village Cricket (Little Brown, 2004), on which a Carlton TV series was based.
Tim Heald lived in Fowey, Cornwall, for fifteen years but recently moved to south Somerset where his mother was born and his father is buried.
               Unbecoming Habits
               Blue Blood Will Out
               Let Sleeping Dogs Die
               Just Desserts
               Murder at Moose Jaw
               Caroline R (this novel chronicles a life similar to that of Princess Diana from her marriage to Prince Charles to her death in 1997)
               Class Distinctions
               Red Herrings
               Brought to Book
               The Rigby File (Editor)
               Business Unusual
               A Classic English Crime (Editor)
               It’s a Dog’s Life
               The Making of Space 1999
               John Steed, the Authorised Biography Vol 1
               HRH: The Man Who Will Be King (co-author with Mayo Mohs)
               The Character of Cricket
               The Newest London Spy (editor)
               By Appointment – 150 Years of the Royal Warrant and its Holders
               My Lord’s
               The Duke – Portrait of Prince Philip
               Honourable Estates
               A Life of Love – The Life of Barbara Cartland
               Denis – The Authorised Biography of the Incomparable Compton
               Brian Johnston – The Authorised Biography
               Beating Retreat – Hong Kong Under the Last Governor [1]
               Death and the Visiting Fellow
               Death and the D’Urbervilles
               A Death on the Ocean Wave
               Tomfoolery; edited work of Tom Baun compiled with his brother, Christopher
               Jardine’s Last Tour
               My Dear Hugh – the collected letters of Richard Cobb
               Death in the Opening Chapter
               Poison at the Pueblo
1. ^ Most of the bibliographical detail taken from a copy Beating Retreat – Hong Kong Under the Last Governor ( published by Sinclair Stevenson in 1997

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s