The Grand Master Award

The Grand Master Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Mystery Writers of America. It recognizes lifetime achievement and consistent quality.
(The award was presented irregularly up to 1978; with the exception of 2009, 2013 and 2014, it has been given to one writer annually since then.)

The History of the MWA’s Grand Master Award

The Grand Master Award was initiated in 1955 when it was bestowed upon Agatha Christie, the prolific and ubiquitous mystery novelist. For a number of years after that, the Grand Master Award was given irregularly, as deemed appropriate, and some years it was not awarded to anyone. Since 1978, the Grand Master Award has been given annually.
On several occasions, the Grand Master Award has been given to more than one person in the same year. In 1973, the award was given to two people, author Judson Philips and the great mystery film director, television producer, progenitor of mystery magazines and book series, and all around master of suspense, Alfred Hitchcock. In 1978, the Grand Master was awarded to three people, authors Ngaio Marsh, Dorothy B. Hughes, and Daphne DuMaurier. Once again in 2009 two authors shared the award; they were James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.
The Grand Master Award Today
Though tradition has changed over the years, MWA convention now dictates that the recipient of the Grand Master Award is announced in November of each year (along with the recipients of the Mystery Writers of America’s Ellery Queen and Raven Awards). The Grand Master is then honored at following April’s Annual Edgar Awards Banquet, where he or she gives a speech. (While the Grand Master, Ellery Queen and Raven Award winners are already known, the year’s Edgar Award-winners are announced for the first time at the banquet).
The MWA’s Roster of Grand Masters
Following is a list of the mystery writers who have received the Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Award since it was instituted.
The Grand Master Award by the Mystery Writers of America
External link’s…
.        Mystery Writers of America (
1. ^ “Contact the National Office of Mystery Writers of America” ( Retrieved 2013-04-21.
.        Mystery Writers of America (
.        Retrieved from “ title=Mystery_Writers_of_America&oldid=590824823″

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s