Patricia Moyes – 19 January 1923 . 2 August 2000

Patricia Pakenham-Walsh, also known as Patricia Moyes (19 January 1923 – 2 August 2000) was a British mystery writer. Her mystery novels feature C.I.D. Inspector Henry Tibbett.
One of them, Who Saw Her Die (Many Deadly Returns in the USA) was nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award in 1971. She wrote several juveniles and short stories.
“Penny” Moyes was born in Dublin, Ireland on 19 January 1923, and was educated at Overstone Girls’ School in Northampton. She joined the WAAF in 1939.
In 1946 Peter Ustinov hired her as technical assistant on his film School for Secrets.
She became his personal assistant for the next eight years. In 1960 she wrote the screenplay for the film School for Scoundrels starring Ian Carmichael, Terry-Thomas, and Alastair Sim.
During her next job as an Assistant Editor for London Vogue, Moyes also translated Jean Anouilh’s play “Leocadia.” It was produced on Broadway—starring Richard Burton, Helen Hayes, and Susan Strasberg as “Time Remembered”—garnering several Tony awards.
The success of “Time Remembered” enabled Moyes to leave Vogue and start writing mysteries.
She married photographer John Moyes in 1951; they divorced in 1959. She later married James Haszard, a linguist at the International Monetary Fund in The Hague.
She died at her home on the island of Virgin Gorda (British Virgin Islands) on 2 August 2000, aged 77, from undisclosed causes.
External link’s…
.        Patricia Moyes at the Internet Movie Database (
.        Patricia Moyes’ bibliography, with some biographical elements (
.        A short article about her first novel. Dead Men Don’t Ski (
Inspector Henry Tibbett Mysteries
               Dead Men Don’t Ski (1959)
               The Sunken Sailor (1961) – US title: Down Among the Dead Men Death on the Agenda (1962)
               Murder a la Mode (1963)
               Falling Star (1964)
               Johnny Under Ground (1965)
               Murder Fantastical (1967)
               Death and the Dutch Uncle (1968)
               Who Saw Her Die? (1970) – US title: Many Deadly Returns Season of Snows and Sins (1971)
               The Curious Affair of the Third Dog (1973)
               Black Widower (1975)
               To Kill a Coconut (1977) – US title: The Coconut Killings
               Who Is Simon Warwick? (1978)
               Angel Death (1980)
               A Six-Letter Word for Death (1983)
               Night Ferry to Death (1985)
               Black Girl, White Girl (1989)
               Twice in a Blue Moon (1993)
Other Books
               After All, They’re Only Cats (1973)
               How to Talk to Your Cat (1978)
               Who Killed Father Christmas/ And Other Unseasonable Demises (1996; short stories)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s