Magdalen Nabb – 16 January 1947. 18 August 2007

Magdalen Nabb (16 January 1947 – 18 August 2007) was a British author, best known for the Marshal Guarnaccia detective novels.
Born near Blackburn in Lancashire as Magdalen Nuttal, she was educated at the Convent Grammar School, Bury, before going on to art college in Manchester, where she studied arts and pottery, which she taught in an art school.
In 1975 she moved to Florence in Italy with her son, Liam, even through she didn’t speak Italian. There, she continued to work on pottery in a pottery town near Florence, and began writing. It was in Montelupo that she met the model for “Marshal Guarnaccia”.
Her first book, Death of an Englishman, was first published in 1981. All her stories take place in Florence which she describes as a “very secret city”. She lived near enough to the Carabinieri station to stroll there regularly and have a chat with the marshal, who kept her up to date on crime in the city.
She also wrote the Josie Smith books for children and did occasional journalistic pieces for English, German and Italian papers.
In 1991 she won the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize for Josie Smith and Eileen, the second book in the series. Her final novel, Vita Nuova, was posthumously published in 2008.
She died in Florence of a stroke, aged 60.
External link’s…
.        Official Web site (
.        Obituary in the Telegraph ( xml=/news/2007/08/22/db2201.xml)
.        2004 interview detailing her extensive research on The Monster of Florence and how this was provided to the italian journalist Mario Spezi ( part08.html)

Maresciallo Guarnaccia

               Death of an Englishman, 1981
               Death of a Dutchman, 1982
               Death in Springtime, 1983
               Death in Autumn, 1985
               The Marshal and the Murderer, 1987
               The Marshal and the Madwoman, 1988
               The Marshal’s Own Case, 1990
               The Marshal Makes His Report, 1991
               The Marshal at the Villa Torrini, 1993
               The Monster of Florence, 1996
               Property of Blood, 1999
               Some Bitter Taste, 2002
               The Innocent, 2005
               Vita Nuova, 2008
Josie Smith books
          Josie Smith, 1989
          Josie Smith and Eileen, 1991, won the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize Josie Smith at Christmas, 1992
          Josie Smith at the Seaside, 1993
          Josie Smith at School, 1994
          Josie Smith in Hospital, 1995
          Josie Smith at the Market, 1996
          Josie Smith in Summer, 1997
          Josie Smith in Winter, 1998
          Josie Smith in Spring, 1999
          Josie Smith in Autumn, 2000
Other books for children
          Twilight Ghost, 2000
          The Enchanted Horse, 1993
Other books for adults
          The Prosecutor, 1986, co-authored by Paolo Vagheggi
          Cosimo, 2004

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s