Harlan Coben – 4 January 1962

Harlan Coben (born January 4, 1962) is an American author of mystery novels and thrillers.
The plots of his novels often involve the resurfacing of unresolved or misinterpreted events in the past (such as murders, fatal accidents, etc.) and often have multiple plot twists.
Both series of Coben’s books are set in and around New York and New Jersey, and some of the supporting characters in the two series have appeared in both.
Coben was born to a Jewish family in Newark, New Jersey, but was raised and schooled in Livingston, New Jersey with childhood friend and future politician Chris Christie at Livingston High School.[1]
While studying political science at Amherst College, he was a member of Psi Upsilon fraternity with author Dan Brown. After Amherst, Coben worked in the travel industry, in a company owned by his grandfather.
He now lives in Ridgewood, New Jersey with his wife, Anne Armstrong-Coben MD, a pediatrician, and their four children.[2]
Coben was in his senior year at college when he realized he wanted to write.
His first book was accepted when he was twenty-six but after publishing two stand-alone thrillers in the 1990s (Play Dead in 1990 and Miracle Cure in 1991) he decided on a change of direction and began a series of thrillers featuring his character Myron Bolitar.
The novels of the popular series follow the tales of a former basketball player turned sports agent (Bolitar), who often finds himself investigating murders involving his clients.
Coben has won an Edgar Award, a Shamus Award and an Anthony Award, and was the first writer to have received all three.
He is also the first writer in more than a decade to be invited to write fiction for the New York Times op-ed page. He wrote a short story titled “The Key to my Father,” which appeared June 15, 2003.
In 2001 he released his first stand-alone thriller since the creation of the Myron Bolitar series in 1995, Tell No One, which went on to be his best selling novel to date.
Film director Guillaume Canet made the book into a French thriller, Ne le dis à personne in 2006. Coben followed Tell No One with nine more stand-alone novels.
His 2008 novel Hold Tight was released on April 15, 2008 and became his first book to debut at No. 1 on the New York Times Best Seller list.
His forthcoming novel The Stranger will expect publication in March 2015.[3]
External links…
.        Official website (http://www.harlancoben.com)
.        Harlan Coben (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1454192/) at the Internet Movie Database
Myron Bolitar series
The Rise and Fall of Super D (Short story, 2005, ISBN 0-525-94874-0)
  1. Deal Breaker (1995, Paperback, ISBN 0-440-22044-0) (2006, Hardcover, ISBN 0-385-34060-1)
  2. Drop Shot (1996, Paperback, ISBN 0-440-22045-9) (2007, Hardcover, ISBN 0-385-34210-1)
  3. Fade Away (1996, Paperback, ISBN 0-440-22268-0) (2008, Hardcover, ISBN 0-385-34250-0)
  4. Back Spin (1997, Paperback, ISBN 0-7528-4916-6) (2010, Hardcover, ISBN 0-385-34356-6)
  5. One False Move (1998, ISBN 0-385-32369-7)
  6. The Final Detail (1999, ISBN 0-385-32371-9)
  7. Darkest Fear (2000, ISBN 0-385-33433-8)
  8. Promise Me (2006, ISBN 0-525-94949-6)
  9. Long Lost (2009, ISBN 0-525-95105-9)
  10. Live Wire (2011, ISBN 0-525-95206-3)
Mickey Bolitar series
     1. Shelter (2011, ISBN 0-399-25650-4)
     2. Seconds Away (2012, ISBN 0-399-25651-2) 3. Found (2014, ISBN 978-0-399-25652-3)
Stand-alone novels
     1. Play Dead (1990, ISBN 0-945167-28-8)
     2. Miracle Cure (1991, ISBN 0-945167-39-3)
     3. Tell No One (2001, ISBN 0-440-23670-3)
     4. Gone for Good (2002, ISBN 0-440-23673-8)
     5. No Second Chance (2003, ISBN 0-525-94729-9) 6. Just One Look (2004, ISBN 0-525-94791-4)
     7. The Innocent (2005, ISBN 0-525-94874-0)
     8. The Woods (2007, ISBN 978-0-525-95012-7)
     9. Hold Tight (2008, ISBN 978-0-525-95060-8)
     10. Caught (2010, ISBN 978-0-525-95158-2)
     11. Stay Close (2012, ISBN 978-0-525-95227-5) 12. Six Years (2013, ISBN 978-0-525-95348-7)
     13. Missing You (2014, ISBN 978-0-525-95349-4) 14. The Stranger (2015, ISBN 978-0-525-95350-0)
Coben has won a number of awards from the mystery fiction community for his work.
He won the 1996 Anthony Award in the “Best Paperback original” category for his début novel Deal Breaker, which also  received an Edgar award nomination in the same category.[4][5]
Fade Away was also highly acclaimed, winning the 1997 Shamus Award and Edgar Award for “Best Paperback original”,[5][6] being nominated for the Anthony Award and Barry Award in the same category;[4][7] and picking up a Dilys Award nomination also.[8]
The following Myron Bolitar novel, Back Spin, won the 1998 Barry Award and was nominated for both the Dilys Award and the Shamus Award also.[6][7][8]
Coben’s 2001 stand-alone novel Tell No One was very well received the following year.
It was nominated for the Anthony Award, Macavity Award, Edgar Award and the Barry Award also.[4][7][9][10]
In 2010, Live Wire won the world’s most lucrative crime fiction award, the RBA International Prize for Crime Writing worth €125,000.[11]
1. ^ Coben, Harlan. “Chris Christie Confidential (http://www.nytimes.com/2009/11/06/opinion/06coben.html)”, The New York Times, November 33, 2009. Accessed February 24, 2011. “Growing up in Livingston, N.J., Chris and I both attended Heritage Junior High and Livingston High School.”
2. ^ “The Official Harlan Coben Web Site” (http://www.harlancoben.com/static/novels/pm.htm). Retrieved September 7, 2006.
4. ^ a b c “Bouchercon World Mystery Convention : Anthony Awards Nominees”
(http://www.bouchercon.info/nominees.html). Bouchercon. Retrieved April 20, 2012.
5. ^ a b “Best Paperback Original Mystery Novel Edgar Award Winners and Nominees – Complete Lists”
(http://www.mysterynet.com/edgars/previous/original/). Mystery Net. Retrieved April 20, 2012.
6. ^ a b “The Private Eye Writers of America and The Shamus Awards” (http://www.thrillingdetective.com/trivia/triv72.html). Thrilling Detective. Retrieved April 20, 2012.
7. ^ a b c “Barry Awards” (http://deadlypleasures.com/barry.html). Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine. Retrieved April 20, 2012.
8. ^ a b “The Dilys Award (IMBA)” (http://www.mysterybooksellers.com/dilys-award). Independent Mystery Booksellers Association. Retrieved April 20, 2012.
9. ^ “Macavity Awards” (http://www.mysteryreaders.org/macavity.html). Mystery Readers International. Retrieved April 20, 2012.
10. ^ “Edgar Award Winners and Nominees in the Private Eye Genre” (http://www.thrillingdetective.com/trivia/triv50.html). Thrilling Detective. Retrieved April 20, 2012.
11. ^ “Harlan Coben wins the 4th RBA International Prize for Crime Writing with his novel ‘Live Wire’” (http://www.catalannewsagency.com/culture/item/harlan-coben-wins-the-4th-rba-international-prize-for-crime- writing-with-his-novel-live-wire). Catalan News Wire. 10 September 2010. Retrieved September 13, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s